AMWA Elects Officers for 2017

At AMWA’s 2016 Executive Management Conference last week in Scottsdale, Ariz., the Board of Directors elected new officers for the coming year. This unique event is designed to meet the particular challenges of top drinking water executives, drawing on an annual survey of member interests to create the agenda.AMWA_logo

The agenda covers topics ranging from technology trends and successful community engagement to alternative rate structures and cybersecurity management, among many others.

The association’s officers for 2017 will include:

Scott Potter, Nashville Metro Water Services

Vice President
Mac Underwood, Birmingham Water Works

Steve Schneider, Saint Paul Regional Water Services

Angela Licata, New York City Dept. of Environmental Protection

The Board and membership voted the following individuals to serve expiring and vacant regional and at-large seats – and a new at-large seat – on the AMWA Board:

Region 1
John Sullivan, Boston Water & Sewer Commission

Region 3
Chuck Murray, Fairfax Water

Region 4
Doug Yoder, Miami-Dade Water & Sewer Department

Region 6
Julia Hunt, Trinity River Authority of Texas

Region 10
Brett Jokela, Anchorage Water & Wastewater Utility

Ron Lovan, Northern Kentucky Water District

Sue McCormick, Great Lakes Water Authority

Jerry Brown, Contra Costa Water District

Rudy Chow, Baltimore City Department of Public Works

Jeff Szabo, Suffolk County Water Authority

Jokela, Brown, Chow and Szabo are new to the AMWA Board.

For the 2017 election, the association’s Nominating Committee recommended that one new at-large seat be filled under the recently approved bylaws amendment that allows an increase of up to five additional at-large board members.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *