Denver Hosts Record-Breaking No-Dig Show

Denver Hosts Record-Breaking No-Dig Show

NASTT?s 2015 No-Dig Show, North America?s premier trenchless technology event, produced its largest-ever turnout March 15-19 at the Colorado Convention Center in downtown Denver.

The event, hosted by the North American Society for Trenchless Technology (NASTT), attracted nearly 2,400 professionals from across the continent and around the world to learn about the latest in trenchless technologies. The previous record for a North American event was the Toronto International No-Dig in 2009, which attracted just over 1,900 people.

The turnout is a reflection of the strength of the trenchless technology industry and the need to build and repair infrastructure. In addition to the attendee numbers, there were more than 170 exhibiting companies.
One of the highlights of the show is the opening breakfast, during which the Trenchless Technology Person of the Year and Projects of the Year are presented. Person of the Year for 2015 was Dan Liotti of Midwest Mole. The Projects of the Year were presented to: Michels Corp. for its work on the New Jersey-New York Expansion project (New Installation), a gas project completed using HDD; and the Calder Road Swagelining project (Rehabilitation) in Texas.

Day 2 highlights included the announcement of the innovative product award winners, the induction of the fourth NASTT Hall of Fame class, as well as awards for young trenchless achievement and lifetime service. At the No-Dig Show Gala Awards Dinner, NASTT inducted its fourth class into its Hall of Fame. Joining the hall were the late David Magill Jr., Avanti International; Ron Halderman, Mears Group; and Kaleel Rahaim, Interplastics Corp.

Also receiving recognition at the Gala Dinner were the NASTT Chair Award for Lifetime Service and the Trent Ralston Award for Young Trenchless Achievement award winners. Dave Krywiak, of Stantec Consulting Ltd., received the NASTT Chair Award for Lifetime Service. This award acknowledges individuals who have selflessly given of their time and talents to enhance NASTT and the industry. Alison St. Clair, of Gibson Thomas Engineering and Dr. Aliraza Bayat, director of the Consortium for Engineered Trenchless Technologies at the University of Alberta, received the Trent Ralston Award for Young Trenchless Achievement.

Winning honors for the Joseph L. Abbott Jr. Innovative Product Awards were: Source 1 Environmental (S1E) for its PipePlug, a proprietary system that offers a simple, safe and cost-effective solution to terminate laterals and bulkhead mainlines, and TT Technologies for its Grundopit K-keyhole mini directional drill, which is designed to operate out of a keyhole excavation for the trenchless installation of gas and water service connections.

Planning is already well under way for NASTT?s 2016 No-Dig Show, which will be held at the Gaylord Texan Convention Center in Dallas, Texas, March 20-24, 2016. For more information, visit

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *