2011 U.S. Water Prize Winners Announced

The Clean Water America Alliance announced the 2011 U.S. Water Prize winners. Each winner has been recognized for their watershed-based models and programs that advance our country toward greater water sustainability. ?These five water champions reflect the diversity of America and set a shining example for innovating, integrating and collaborating from coast to coast to sustain America’s most precious liquid asset,? explained Alliance President Ben Grumbles. U.S. Water Prize winners in alphabetical order are:

  • The City of Los Angeles
  • Milwaukee Water Council
  • National Great Rivers Research & Education Center
  • New York City Department of Environmental Protection
  • Pacific Institute

The City of Los Angeles, including its Bureau of Sanitation, and New York City Department of Environmental Protection are planning, integrating and incorporating innovative green infrastructure approaches and increasing resource recovery through water reuse and other cutting edge technologies. Both cities are maximizing their resources through community partnerships and involvement. Wisconsin?s Milwaukee Water Council is establishing public-private collaborations that advance water technology and promote economic development. As a result, the Milwaukee area is becoming known as a ?World Water Hub.? A state-of-the-art facility, the National Great Rivers Research & Education Center (Alton, Ill.) is mobilizing volunteer communities around the confluence of two rivers and creating a national and international center for science, education and public outreach. The Pacific Institute is consistently in the vanguard of water issues from water use efficiency to climate change, informing political debate and elevating public awareness.

U.S. Water Prize winners will be honored in a special ceremony on May 9, 2011, at 5:30 p.m., in the Hotel Monaco of Washington, D.C. National water and environmental leaders will attend the celebration. Each recipient will receive a handcrafted ceramic art work commissioned from internationally acclaimed potter Miranda Thomas.

The Clean Water America Alliance created and administers the U.S. Water Prize to recognize achievement and inspire action for water sustainability.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *