Jim Williams named AWWA’s next president-elect


The American Water Works Association Board of Directors has selected Jim Williams of Mishawaka, Ind., as the association’s next president-elect. Two vice presidents and one director-at-large were also elected during the annual winter meeting in January.

An AWWA member for more than 30 years, Williams is currently the general manager at Peerless-Midwest, a Suez Company. Active in the Indiana Section, he has served as chair and director and currently sits on its Water Utility Council and Water for People Committee. He has received several water industry awards, including the Kenneth J. Miller Founders’ Award and the George Warren Fuller Award.

Williams begins his role as president-elect in June at the conclusion of AWWA’s Annual Conference & Exposition in Las Vegas. He will serve his one-year presidential term beginning in June 2019.

The two vice presidents elected by the board are:

  • Randy Moore has been a member of AWWA for 35 years at the Missouri Section and is a regular contributor to Opflow, AWWA’s magazine for operators. Currently an Association service provider director-at-large, he is director of sales – agency development and industry affairs for Tnemec Co. in Kansas City, Mo.
  • Theresa O’Grady, a member of the Illinois Section for over 20 years, is currently the director and is involved in several committees. O’Grady is a group manager of water resources at Crawford, Murphy & Tilly, Inc. in Aurora, Ill.

Also elected was Keisha Lisbon Thorpe as director-at-large. Thorpe is a watershed director II at the City of Atlanta and has been a member of AWWA’s Georgia Section for over 15 years. Active at her Section, she launched the Diversity Committee and also helped to launch the Model Water Tower Competition Committee.

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *